Zeroing

General JointCAM questions and discussion
Post Reply
SeanOB
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2019 9:38 pm

Zeroing

Post by SeanOB »

I know this maybe a stupid question. But how is everyone zeroing the router?

G-Force_Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 5:10 pm

Re: Zeroing

Post by G-Force_Admin »

Are you referring to X, Y, Z, or all three?
Gerry

SeanOB
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2019 9:38 pm

Re: Zeroing

Post by SeanOB »

I'm referring to all 3.
I zeroed to the top surface, left corner with a prob. But when i run the gcode, just only cuts 1/8" circle. Then homes.
I have the shapeoko 3 xxl, i use carbide motion to control the cnc.

Photo of my setup

https://www.dropbox.com/s/cfgvir1sqns0v ... .jpeg?dl=0

G-Force_Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 5:10 pm

Re: Zeroing

Post by G-Force_Admin »

The code from JointCAM?

Email me the code, and save the project file (.jnt file) and send me that as well.
Gerry

SeanOB
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2019 9:38 pm

Re: Zeroing

Post by SeanOB »

I have it cutting now. not sure what i did though. Trying to cut half blind dovetails, looks like the tail aren't rounding enough to fit the pins.

G-Force_Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 5:10 pm

Re: Zeroing

Post by G-Force_Admin »

If you are cutting both pin and tail boards together, the board on the table needs to be offset from the vertical board, or they won't line up. The offset amount is displayed on the screen in JointCAM.

Trying to cut half blind dovetails, looks like the tail aren't rounding enough to fit the pins.
Can you post a pic?
Again, if you need help, send me the files, or add them here.
Gerry


G-Force_Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 5:10 pm

Re: Zeroing

Post by G-Force_Admin »

The file "pin.nc" is actually the same file as the "tail.nc" file.
So I don't have your actual "pin" board file.

However, just looking at the picture, it looks like you are setting your X zero on the outside of the vertical board. It needs to be on the Inside.
I think that will fix the problem.
Gerry

Post Reply